17 April 2024 05:18 AM

Local Administration


Tuesday، 24 May 2016 - 12:00 AM

Egypt is divided for administrative purposes into 27 governorates. Egyptian governorates are the top tier of the country's five-tier jurisdiction hierarchy.

A governorate is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Egypt and serves at the President's discretion. Most governorates have a population density of more than one thousand per km², while the 3 largest have a population density of less than two thousand per km².

Governorates are either fully "urban" or else an admixture of "urban" and "rural". The official distinction between "urban" and "rural" is reflected in the lower tiers: i.e. fully urban governorates have no regions (markaz “conglomeration of villages”), as the markaz is, natively, a conglomeration of villages. Moreover, governorates may comprise just one city, as in the case of Cairo and Alexandria. Hence, these one-city governorates are only divided into districts.

Two new governorates were created on 17 April 2008; namely, Helwan and 6th of October. In April 2011, the 6th of October and Helwan governorates were again incorporated into the Giza and Cairo Governorates, respectively. Luxor was created on 9 December 2009, to be the 29th governorate of Egypt, but with the abolition of the 6th of October and Helwan governorates, the number of governorates has decreased to 27.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To